Destiny 2 – How to Unlock Void Subclass

You are currently viewing Destiny 2 – How to Unlock Void Subclass

Subclasses allow players to play Destiny 2 the way they want to, altering the general game flow to suit many different playstyles. The Void subclass is a community favorite and one that every player should have unlocked.

New players and those creating their second character will want to know how to unlock the Void subclass quickly so they can take advantage of it as soon as possible. This guide will give you all of the info you need to do just that.

Recommended Read: What Is Strand in Destiny 2?

To unlock the Void subclass in Destiny 2, complete the Gazing into the Abyss quest from Ikora Rey.

Table of Contents

How to Unlock Void Subclass in Destiny 2

There are five different subclasses currently in Destiny 2, the Solar subclass, the Arc subclass, the Void subclass, the Stasis subclass, and the Strand subclass.

Each of these subclasses provides players with a unique way to play the game, adopting different abilities, Aspects, and Fragments with every subclass.

When you begin the game on your first character, you will only have access to one subclass. Warlocks start out with the Solar subclass, Hunter with the Arc subclass, and Titans with the Void subclass.

This is to help players get familiar with their abilities and the methods of upgrading their subclass before introducing them to additional subclasses. If you are a Titan, you luckily already have the Void subclass unlocked.

If you are a Warlock or a Hunter after the Void subclass, the steps to unlocking it are fairly simple and will be the same regardless of which Class you choose.

After completing the New Light mission Guardian Rises, you will be given the quest A Spark of Hope.

After unlocking this quest, you will also unlock access the the quests that lead to your other subclasses. You will want to head to the Tower for the next step.

After speaking with Commander Zavala and Ikora Rey in the Tower, you will receive one of three quests, Riding the Storm, Stoking the Flame, or Gazing into the Abyss. Each of these quests will unlock one of the three Light subclasses.

That last one, Gazing into the Abyss, is the quest you need to complete if you want the Void subclass. It will have you defeat multiple enemies using the Void element, generate 10 Orbs of Power, and gain 25,000 XP before completing it.

This quest can be completed fairly quickly using a Void energy weapon with Void Siphon Mods equipped to generate Orbs of Power quickly.

If you are new to the game, we have a guide on How to Generate Orbs of Power to help you out with this step of the quest.

The 25,000 XP you need should come passively during the other two steps of the quest. If you do find yourself having a tough time getting enough XP, consider picking up some Bounties and turning them in for fast, easy XP gains.

Once completed, you will unlock the base Void subclass, its Super abilities, and some basic Void abilities.

From here, you will need to purchase Aspects, Fragments, and abilities from Ikora Rey if you want to get the most out of your newly unlocked subclass.

It is a good idea to try and unlock all of your Aspects, Fragments, and abilities as soon as possible. This lets you try out different builds and experiment until you find a combination that suits your playstyle.

Now you can go ahead and unlock the Void subclass on your Warlock or Hunter!

Which of the three Light subclasses is your favorite? Feel free to let me know in the comments!

Opie Cain

Opie has played Destiny 2 since release. Crafting articles that capture the essence of this epic universe. Beyond this, he enjoys 3D printing and 3D modeling, along with social and competitive VR gaming.

Leave a Reply