FFXIV – How to Unlock Reaper

You are currently viewing FFXIV – How to Unlock Reaper

Reaper is a scythe-wielding former farmer in Final Fantasy XIV. It was released with Endwalker and starts the game at level 70.

If you want to play Reaper but aren’t sure how to unlock it, read along to get all the answers you need!

Recommended Read: Where Can You Spend Allagan Tomestones of Poetics in FFXIV?

To unlock Reaper in FFXIV, go to Ul’Dah and talk to the Flustered Attendant. You must own Endwlaker and have a level 70 War or Magic job.

Table of Contents

How to Unlock Reaper in Final Fantasy XIV

To unlock Reaper in FFXIV, you must complete the Reaper questline. But before you do that, there are a couple of steps to take.


Unlike some other class requirements, to unlock Reaper, you don’t have to complete any certain MSQ.

But you do have to own Endwalker. You can buy the expansion directly at the Square Enix store.

Level 70 or Higher

To start the quest for Reaper, you need a Disciple of War or Magic job that is at least level 70.

There are two shortcuts for this. You either buy a level boost from the MogStation or unlock a different class that is nearly level 70.

For example, Gunbreaker and Dancer both start at level 60. So you only have ten levels to go to get them.

Of course, you need a level 60 to get them, but unlocking them does give you a free set of level 60 gear.

Reaper Questline

The Reaper questline is much like other class questlines in Final Fantasy XIV. Lucky for players, it begins in the first city of the game.

The First Quest

  • Location – Steps of Nald (X:12.8, Y:8.6)
  • NPC – Flustered Attendant

You only need to complete the first Reaper quest to become a Reaper. It unlocks the weapon, Reaper attire, and the Soul of the Reaper.

To become Reaper, all you need to do is equip the Soul of the Reaper. The quest is easy, just speak to the people in the city as needed.

Tip: Immediate Upgrade Gear

Reaper shares gear with Dragoon, so if you have Dragoon gear, that’s great. If you do not, it’s a good idea to use your Allagan Tomestones of Poetics.

The Augmented Scaevan Armor is level 70, and it’s much better than the default Reaper gear. Buy the Maiming set as soon as possible.

Find the gear at Rhalgr’s Reach (Enna) or Kugane ( Rowena’s Representative.) For further instructions, check out this guide.

How Reaper Works

Reaper has a few mechanics new to FFXIV. It wields a scythe, giving it amazing AoE compared to similar jobs.

Keep in mind that Reaper begins at level 70, so it seems complicated because you have to learn so many abilities all at once.

But the gauges and mechanics become easy after a while. So, take your time and learn as you go.

Reaper Gauges

There are three Reaper gauges that generate as you use skills and abilities. You can then spend these gauge points to use separate skills and abilities.

Soul Gauge

The Soul gauge is the red gauge that unlocks immediately and generates with weapon skills.

It works by targeting enemies and putting them under certain effects before they die.

Once you do, you fill the gauge and gain the “currency” needed for primary mechanics and abilities. These include Blood Stalk and Grim Swathe.

Shroud Gauge

The Shroud Gauge is the blue gauge that unlocks at level 80. The only abilities that charge this gauge are Gibbet, Gallows, and Guillotine. 

Once charged, you can enter Enshroud mode, which transforms you into an avatar. Once you enter this mode, you get new stacks of Lemure Shroud.

Lemure Shroud is available for new abilities during your Enshroud experience. Eventually, you unlock an upgraded version of Enshroud and Lemure.

Now you know how to unlock Reaper in FFXIV.

Have any trouble unlocking Reaper? Let me know in the comments!

Emily Medlock

Emily has eight years of writing experience that she uses to connect with fellow gamers. She is a lifelong gamer and addict of FFXIV - a Miqo'te at heart; always ready for a glam contest. For her, gaming is more than a fun activity, it's therapy.

Leave a Reply